Governors 2022–2023

Rebekah Stott

Headteacher. 1 Sept 2021. Bex joined the St Mary and St John team in September 2021 as the headteacher. “Being part of St Mary and St John CE Primary School is exciting and very rewarding. The team is incredibly hard working and dedicated. As a school with love and aspiration at its heart, we are always looking for ways to inspire every child and advance their learning. The Governing Body acts as the school’s ‘critical friend’ and their wide set of skills and experiences are essential to the school’s vision. With everyone sharing the same goal, we are a supportive and successful team.”

The Revd Philip Ritchie

Vicar of Cowley St John. 1 July 2015. Phil is the local vicar at St Mary and St John Church on Cowley Road. He and the church team come into school regularly to lead whole school Celebrations.

Sarah Franklin

Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor (Parish) 1 Sept 2020 – 31 Aug 2024. Sarah works as an editor, book designer and project manager. She has lived in East Oxford for more than 20 years and her two children both attended the school. At different times she has served as a school governor for Comper as well as for Mary & John.

Anna Ballance

Co Vice-Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor (Diocese).  25 Feb 2020 – 24 Feb 2024.  Anna is a retired Oxfordshire headteacher enjoying being involved in primary education again. She is a volunteer for the Witness Service in Oxford and Reading and is a part-time tutor. Her two children are now living and working in London so there is an empty nest to fill.

Julia Bell

Foundation Governor (Diocese).  21 Apr 2020 – 20 Apr 2024. Julia has two children, one at Mary & John and one in secondary school. She lives in East Oxford and works as a communications officer at Merton College, Oxford.

Tim Foster

Foundation Governor (Parish).  4 Apr 2023– 3 Apr 2027.  Tim has two children, both of whom attended Mary & John. Tim is a trustee of a number of local charities and works as a business consultant, as well as developing personal and career development programmes for football managers.

Jane Godby

Staff Governor.  4 March 2023 – 3 March 2027.  Jane has been a teacher at Mary & John for 10 years. She has taught all age groups in her career but at Mary & John, Years 1–3. She started on the leadership team as Key Stage 1 Coordinator and oversaw the Hertford Street site. When the Key Stage 1 children moved down to the Meadow Lane site she became the Lower School Lead, working closely with the Upper School Lead and overseeing the transition of children from Key Stage 1 to Key Stage 2. She was for many years an associate member of the GB, and also stepped up to the Deputy Head role for two terms, before Ellie Armstrong joined our team.

Tony Pound

Parent Governor. 17 May 2023 – 16 May 2027. Tony has two children at Mary & John, Caitlin and Maisie. His background is in financial planning and he is passionate about health and wellbeing..

Benjamin Klooss

Parent Governor.  28 Sept 2020 – 27 Sept 2024. Ben is a parent governor with two children currently at Mary & John.  Ben is a consultant at an international development consultancy and cares deeply about the East Oxford community and our school.

Laurence Price

Foundation Governor (Diocese).  19 January 2022 – 18 January 2026. Laurence is an ordained priest in the Church of England and assists at various churches around Oxford, including St Mary & St John. During the week he works for the Solicitors Regulation Authority investigating complaints made against solicitors.

Charlotte Ryland

Parent Governor. 19 May 2022 – 18 May 2026. Charlotte is a parent governor with two children at Mary & John. She has worked in education for over fifteen years, and currently runs a small educational charity and an outreach centre based at Oxford University.

Jenny Worroll

Co Vice-Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor (Parish).  1 Sept 2022 – 31 Aug 2026. Jenny has two children, both now at secondary school, having previously attended Mary & John.  She works as a software developer, and was PTA secretary before becoming a governor.


Clerk to the Governors

Jenny Dyer

Governor Services, Oxfordshire County Council


Governor Roles


Governor Meetings, Minutes and Code